3Arts image for social

2020 3Arts Awards

6:00pm – 7:00pm Central Time
Live on YouTube

This year we’re bringing more joy than ever to our annual celebration of Chicago artists. We’ll announce the recipients of 2020 3Arts Awards and the Make a Wave grantees, share some big news about our expanding support for artists across our city, and begin a tradition of splitting donations with two admired organizations that are part of the ecosystem that supports artists--because we're all in this together.

Join Us:

The event is free. Registration is required.
Registered attendees will receive an access link and advance details.

It is not enough for 3Arts to endure. It is time for all of us to do what we can and to share as much of our resources as possible with kindred organizations whose survival is essential to artists. We’re starting a tradition of splitting evenly any donations made leading up to and during our event with two other organizations that are longstanding anchors in Chicago. This year’s co-beneficiaries with 3Arts are Deeply Rooted Dance Theater and Jazz Institute of Chicago.

3Arts logo Deeply Rooted logo Jazz Institute logo
Donation: $

Please contact Mesha Arant with questions: mesha@3arts.org or 312-443-9621.

3Arts Awards Logo

Program Preview:

$470,000 will be awarded to artists in the performing, teaching, and visual arts.

15 artist commissions will light up the evening’s festivities, including

World Premiere of "New World" by Sam Trump, 2019 3Arts/Southwest Airlines Awardee

"Exquisite Arts" video performances by past awardees:

Tatsu Aoki
Kareem Bandealy
Brandi Berry Benson
Leslie B. Dunner
Monique Haley
Will Liverman
Tekki Lomnicki
Fawzia Mirza
Tomeka Reid
Vershawn Sanders-Ward
Jumaane Taylor
Anna Martine Whitehead
Nejla Yatkin
, director

Honoring Native Lands by Santiago X

Our event features ASL interpreters, audio description, and open captioning.

EVENT CO-CHAIRS: Juana Guzman, Cecil McDonald Jr., Masum Momaya

HOST COMMITTEE: Michelle T. Boone, Lee Buress, Jeremy L. Buxbaum, Katie Cangemi, Antonia Contro, Cheryl Cooke, Justin Cooper, Judy Cothran, Pamela Crutchfield, Amina Dickerson, Christine Donovan, Dina Fenili-Niekamp, Sharon Furiya, Denise & Gary Gardner, Dedrea Gray, Greta Honold, Erica Hubbard, Rebecca Laskaris, Laurel Appell Lipkin, Lynn Lockwood, Nalani McClendon, Patric McCoy, Eva Penar, David Pinkerton, Angelique Power, Carrie Sandahl, Sydney Sidwell, Eva Silverman, Janet Carl Smith, Dusty Stemer, Jacqueline Terrassa, Maria de los Angeles Torres, Carlos Tortolero, Phoebe Chandler Turner

ARTIST COUNCIL: Dee Alexander, Matt Bodett, William Estrada, Ayriole Frost, Meida Teresa McNeal, Aram Han Sifuentes, Andy Slater, and avery r. young


Image: Sam Trump, 2019 3Arts/Southwest Airlines Awardee. Photo by Nijole Shuberg, @nspicture